Wednesday, 1 June 2011


27 MAY - 29 MAY


Cambridge East Griqualand                Royal East Griqualand
1. Mike Osborn (3)                               1. Rory Bryden (5)
2. Selby Williamson (6)                        2. Chippy Watson (4)
3. Duncan Watson (4)                          3. John Eustace (5)
4. Russell Watson (6)                           4. Campbell Macnab (3)

Free State                                          Highveld
1. Johan Groenewald (4)                     1. Davey Evans (4)
2. Sipho Spilsbury (4)                           2. James Kane Berman (4)
3. Gillespie Armstrong (5)                    3. Brad MacGibbon (5)
4. Terence Spilsbury (4)                       4. Duncan Ellis (4)

All matches were evenly contested with the only run away score being a big win on the Friday for Cambridge EG over Free State. Saturday drew the first surprise of the tournament when top rated Cambridge EG only managed to draw with their fellow provincial team Royal EG in a closely fought 11 all draw. 

This result laid the tournament wide open for Sunday fixtures compounded by Free State’s win over Royal EG. This ensured the last game between Cambridge EG and Highveld being a true final and no one gave the Highveld side much of a chance against a team studded with youth and two experienced SA players.  

The first few chukkas proved this with EG well up after the half time break in a pretty one sided contest thus far. Highveld went into the last chukka requiring five goals and looked dead and buried. Duncan Ellis held the team together with sound leadership and solid defence while the three youngsters in front chipped away at the deficit to eventually draw level with about 20 seconds remaining on the clock. 

James Kane Berman picked up the throw in from the line out and ran half the length of the field to score the winning goal much to the delight of the many Highveld supporters. EG looked shell shocked and had to be content with the runners up prize after leading convincingly for most of the game.

MVP For The Tournament: went to Campbell Macnab
Best Playing Pony
: Brad MacGibbon’s pony called “Satan”

No comments:

Post a Comment